Busy, busy MF2

10919257_1541216036147774_1023067848_n

It has been a month since coming back from Christmas break and Medical Foundations 2 has been absolutely busy! At the same time, this is the best experience of my life. In this post, I will talk about:

  • How I am doing in the tutorial
  • IER Workshops (IV, suturing, etc)
  • Interprofessional Dissection Course
  • Social Events

Tutorial

10932389_330869223771039_1430417821_n

In my last update, I mentioned the struggles I had in the tutorial. It has taken me a while, but I definitely see improvements in myself! I am speaking out with more confidence and going up to the board more often. My classmates have helped me a lot in terms of sharing the resource that they use and explaining complex concepts to me. There are no mandatory textbooks for tutorial, but I hope share the resources that helped our class to the next incoming class of PA students to help their transition into the program.

Something my friend and I have been doing this term was going to the anatomy lab after tutorial. We just go through the modules they have on each organ we are learning about. It’s one thing to read something in textbooks but what leaves the biggest impression on me is seeing it in front of me (and if I can, I want to touch it :P). The anatomy lab is open for all health science students to go in and view specimens. The PA program does not have a mandatory anatomy course (though I think it should). Currently, our class sets up our own anatomy sessions after every unit with Dr. Shali, who goes through the specimens with us, which is super helpful!

IER Workshops

10958615_516608528481772_931179365_n

The IER schedule of skills, we will be learning was sent out to us in late December. I was excited to know that we will be learning the following skills this term:10403180_10153064809958894_801925900757546414_n

  • Abdomen Exam
  • Digital Rectal Exam
  • IV Workshop
  • Wound Suturing
  • Pelvic Exam

We had our IV Workshop two weeks ago. It was very fun because we got to practice with these arms that have “veins” in it to reflect a real arm. Of course, the amount of time we had was not enough to be proficient in doing it (it’s a skill that takes a lot of practice). However, it is good to at least know how it is done. For myself, I would probably  get someone to supervise me when doing it on a real patient for the first few times!

We had the suturing workshop last week. We practiced on pigs feet. In this workshop, we learned how to do 3 Interrupted Sutures: Simple, Vertical Mattress, and Horizontal Mattress. 

Compared to starting an IV, I feel that suturing is one skill that we need to know because there is a higher likelihood of us performing it in a health setting. A few of my classmates have already sutured before in their placements!

Interprofessional Education Dissection Course

Screen Shot 2015-01-29 at 2.55.46 PM

This is an intensive interprofessional gross anatomy dissection course that takes only 28 students a year from all 6 health professional programs (MD, OT, PT, PA, Nursing, and Midwifery).The sessions run for three hours every Wednesdays for 10 weeks. There are only 4 PA spots, selected at random. I am very fortunate (and lucky) to be selected to participate in this dissection course!

Objectives of the course: Increase understanding of human anatomy through interaction with various professional programs.

10787914_1599328896957103_1511944645_n

  • My understanding of the human anatomy just exploded!
    • I did take a human anatomy course in undergrad and, to be honest because my exams were all multiple choice, I memorized everything and relied on recognition on the exam. However, in this dissection course, I can see where these anatomical structures are…in real scale! Some structures I was able to appreciate so far are: atherosclerosis, osteoarthritis, a hiatal hernia, the size of the sciatic nerve, delicacy of the lungs, thickness of the diaphragm, ligaments and structure of the hip joint and knee, + many more!
    • I am also someone who learns best by physically doing things so I am really benefiting from this opportunity!
  • I enjoy working with students from the other professional programs.
    • We only covered the integument system, and upper and lower limbs so far so the physiotherapy student was really helpful in helping us identify the structures we were looking at. I love my group as well, everyone is so supportive!
  • There is additional work to be done in preparing for each week’s dissection.
    • I am a lot busier, but it is so worth it! Again, I am very grateful to be selected in the random draw to participate!

Social Events

10724996_333361473524252_324608410_n10895075_1534820990133406_704149821_n

Outside of classes, we try to organize bonding events. We went skating at the Waterfront. The next day we visited Albion Falls. Perks of being in a small program is that you really get to know everyone very well. I am so happy to be able to call my classmates my family.

10919074_641897889249395_1744517915_n

2 thoughts on “Busy, busy MF2

  1. sumaiii says:

    I loved reading this post! I’m also planning on applying to the PA program after my 2 years of undergrad and after reading your post, I can’t wait!

Leave a Reply

